Share your financial resolutions for 2013

fireworks_14

I believe in resolutions at the start of a new year.

I believe in resolutions, period. But there is something magical about the fresh start that a new year brings. Despite what people say about resolutions, I often keep mine.* I owe this fact to being extremely stubborn and having a (cruelly) strong memory.

I’d like to share my financial goals for 2013 with the hope that they inspire you to set your own.

1) Stay the course: I’ve had a great year financially. I’ve learned to manage my credit card (the balance is zero as I write this!), and I’ve learned to save money ($3,000 in planned spending savings; $5,000 in job-absence savings; and $7,000 in retirement savings. Um…yay!) Now would be a great time to rest, right? It’s the optimal time to relax a little. NO WAY! OK, maybe a little. I can probably stop living with my poor-woman mentality, but overall I need to stay on my current path to get where I want to be, which is…

2) Become (almost) debt-free:  Mortgage not included, my main goal is to rid myself of personal debt in the coming 12 months. I have a car loan ($3,190) and the rest of my student loan ($1,300) left. Part of me wants to hit them hard, but I know that slow and steady wins the race, which means I will have to…

3) Prioritize: I have non-financial goals this year that require money to achieve, including replacing the flooring in my condo and taking at least three Master’s classes. That means other goals – like a trip to Whitehorse, YT with my daughter and my partner – will likely have to wait. That’s OK. After all, 2014 is right around the corner. And we all know a new year means new goals and new possibilities.

Please share your financial resolutions (either in the comments section or by emailing me at hasetka@hotmail.com). It will inspire me to reach my own goals.

Happy New Year!

~HS

*If you have trouble keeping yours, here are some tips from Forbes.

Photo: bigfoto.com

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

