Do rich people think differently?

Well, it looks like I am 100 per cent, totally, completely wrong about something.

Ugh. I hate it when that happens.

I’ve been acting and thinking like a poor person. Somehow, I thought this would make me rich. But it turns out this is not how the equation works.

My thinking started to change after a debate with my dear friend, Bekah. We were talking (read: gossiping) about people we knew, and I took the position that children of rich families were spoiled and that they’d never learn to fend for themselves. She said that children in rich families actually learned to be rich, and subsequently learned how to obtain wealth themselves.

I was adamant in my position…until the following week when I read a story in the Globe and Mail about an author who studies rich people. He found that rich people think differently than people who aren’t. Ya, I thought, of course they do. They think about how awesome it is that they’re rich. 

Still, the article intrigued me and I had to get the book. So I checked it out of the library (like a poor person). Here it is:

My boyfriend cracked up when he saw it kicking around the house. “That looks like a self-help book,” he said, laughing.

“I think that’s exactly what it is,” I responded, laughing (at least on the outside).

Siebold’s premise is that if you think like a rich person, you’re more likely to be one. Here’s a quick peek inside:

It reads hokey, right? It also might read a little like The Secret. (Ah! remember The Secret? Remember that 20 minutes in 2007 when we all thought we could get really rich and have really shinny hair and fall really in love with the person of our dreams, if we just thought about it? Remember that? That was fun, right?)

But Siebold claims his theories are based on research, and that he got rich by thinking rich. Hey, I’m willing to try it.

I’m not super hungry to be loaded (wait, did I just blow it already?), but I’m also done with being broke.

As a famous woman – which one is up for debate – once said:

“I’ve been rich, and I’ve been poor. Believe me, honey, rich is better.”

~HS

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

